2016 Women Diver Hall of Fame Nominations Now Live

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

2016 Women Diver Hall of Fame Nominations Now Live

July 27, 2015 - 18:18
Posted in section:

Do you know a female diver who has made an outstanding contribution in exploration, knowledge, safety, enjoyment and preservation of our underwater world?

The Women Divers Hall of Fame was founded in 1999, and is a collaborative effort between Beneath the Sea, the Underwater Society of America, the Women’s Scuba Association, Women Underwater, Hillary Viders, Ph.D. and Captain Kathy A. Weydig.

The (WDHOF) are accepting nominations for ladies who will be recognised in 2016.

Founded in 1999, members include pioneers, leaders, innovators and world record holders throughout the international diving community. These areas of diving and undersea endeavours include: the arts, science, medicine, exploration, marine archeology, business, media, training and education, safety, commercial and military diving, free diving and underwater sports.

Alumni include; Annie Crawley (Scuba Diving Camp Founder), Evie Bartram Dudas (Dudas' Diving Dudes), Sheri Daye (Freediver and 'Beyond The Wild Show' organiser), Dr. Sylvia Earle (Marine Biologist), Nancy Easterbrook (Founder of Inner Space), Vallorie J. Hodges (Dive Technical Officer @ Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies), Betty Orr (Diving Insurance and Safety Consultant) and Tamara Thomsen (Maritime Archaeologist).

The WDHOF has two primary roles. To recognise the outstanding contributions that women divers have made, and to provide educational and mentorship to the diving community. Each year the WDHOF awards scholarships and training grants that provide financial and educational support to individuals who are preparing for professional careers that involve diving.

If you wish to nominate a diver to join the Women Divers Hall of Fame, she must meet two criteria to be considered for membership. She must actually be an underwater diver, and her contribution must be recognised as significant. The deadline for nominating members for 2015 / 2016 fellowship closes on Sunday 30th August 30 2015.