Bozanic Receives AAUS' Conrad Limbaugh Award

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Bozanic Receives AAUS' Conrad Limbaugh Award

August 31, 2015 - 12:44
Posted in section:

Conrad Limbaugh was the first Diving Officer at Scripps Institution of Oceanography – he was appointed on 29th December 1953.

Jeff Bozanic at the 2012 Long Beach Scuba Show

Limbaugh was one of the first to combine diving with research. Following his death in 1960 the AAUS (American Academy of Underwater Science) created the “Conrad Limbaugh Memorial Award for Scientific Diving Leadership”. This is presented on an annual basis to “an individual who has made a significant contribution to diving safety and leadership on behalf of the scientific diving community.”

The AAUS recently announced that this year's recipient is respected rebreather expert Dr Jeffrey Bozanic.

Jeff qualified as a scientific diver in 1978 at Humboldt State University. Over the past 37 years he has led or participated in more than 70 scientific diving expeditions around the world. These have resulted in the collection of more than 200 new species of animals, gathered important data on dive equipment reliability and effectiveness, explored and surveyed several underwater cave systems, and developed new procedures for gathering scientific data, whilst using advanced diving equipment and techniques, or in extreme environments.

this award recognises Jeff Bozanic has selflessly given his time, expertise, and knowledge

In addition to scientific diving, Jeff is a NAUI scuba instructor, a prolific writer and speaker.

AAUS state that this award “recognises Jeff Bozanic has selflessly given his time, expertise, and knowledge to varies communities in the diving world, including the sector for over three decades.”