Call for Nominations for Inaugural Lavanchy Scuba Diving Award

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Call for Nominations for Inaugural Lavanchy Scuba Diving Award

October 26, 2016 - 12:16
Posted in section:

Do you know someone what has Jack Lavanchy's ethos and spirit? Please tell the EUF!

A young Jack Lavanchy

Almost nine months ago to the day, one of the early pioneers of the European Scuba Diving Industry - - passed away. He was 87.

Jack, known as ‘Jacky’ by many, was a former honorary vice president of the European Underwater Federation. He was personally instrumental in the initial development and growth of European recreational diving.

Lavanchy had a unique perspective on business. He worked tirelessly to try to and persuade the members of the diving community to work together for the good of the sport and the benefit of divers everywhere.

"My goal has always been to make the manufacturing and selling of diving equipment a serious professional and honourable business. I did everything I could to bring the Diving Industry closer together, instead of spending money, time and energy in quarrelling and lawsuits!

I have always fought for unity and collaboration. It does not matter if you are a member of SSI, CMAS or PADI. The main thing is that you are a diver who dives safely and motivates other people to dive.

We that the EUF were creating a new award to recognise individuals who enthusiastically contribute to the European diving community. Now the EUF is calling for nominees for the inaugural award that embrace Lavanchy's ethos.

The nominee should be an individual who the members of the EUF feel has made a significant and sustained contribution towards the responsible development of the European diving community.

The Lavanchy Award is to be presented annually at the Dusseldorf Boot show.

Please email the of the EUF by 15th November 2016. Nominations must be made by email using this .

The criteria for the award are as follows:

The candidates for a particular year will first be screened as suitable by the EUF Board, then voted on by the members of the EUF.