NAUI Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

NAUI Announces 2019 Award Recipients

October 09, 2019 - 08:32

Press Release

NAUI celebrates the dedication and contributions of NAUI members past and present who have made significant contributions to the Association and the sport of diving.


Tampa, Fla. (October 8, 2019) – As part of its long tradition of recognizing excellence and leadership in the dive industry, the National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI Worldwide) membership has selected official NAUI award recipients for 2019. Recipients are to be formally announced and honored Thursday, Nov. 14 during the DEMA Show in Orlando, Florida. 

This year, NAUI will recognize 82 of its members and three non-members. These include four Hall of Honor inductees; 46 Outstanding Service members; 17 Continuing Service members; two Albert Pierce Medal of Heroismawardees; two Outstanding Training Support awardees; one Honorary Member; and four Next Generation Leader Award recipients.

NAUI awards recognize the contributions and services of industry professionals and groups made to both NAUI and to the greater diving community.

“As a democratic association, members proudly recognize those who represent the best in NAUI, our mission, and sport diving in general in such a way as to deserve special merit and attention,” said NAUI Executive Director Rick Lorimor.

The NAUI Awards Ceremony will be held prior to and in conjunction with the NAUI Annual General Membership Meeting (AGM), which will be held in the Orange County Convention Center West concourse (9800 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819), room W206A/B, on Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019, at 2 p.m. (EST).

Following the awards ceremony, a members-only reception will be held at an offsite location from 6 to 9 p.m. (EST). The Member Reception will be held at the Pirate’s Dinner Adventure (6400 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819).

“This year’s recipients have each made a significant difference to scuba education, to NAUI’s mission and programs, to the environmental consciousness, and/or to diving safety,” said Lorimor. “Congratulations to the NAUI Award recipients for 2019! On behalf of NAUI Worldwide, the Board of Directors and members worldwide, I thank you for your continued commitment to excellence and innovation.”

Descriptions, criteria, and the list of award recipients can be found at