WDHOF Announces Class of 2017

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

WDHOF Announces Class of 2017

October 28, 2016 - 23:10
Posted in section:

The Women Divers Hall of Fame (WDHOF) have announced their 2017 inductees.

According to WDHOF's , there are currently 186 members hailing from 30 USA states and 12 countries worldwide.

All six candidates are from the USA, with three hailing for California.

Heather Armstrong, Hawaii
- Technical Diving Educator, Explorer, Diving Project Manager

Gail Chapman, Florida
- Microbiologist, Non-Profit Leader, Ocean Advocate

Szilvia Gogh, California
- PADI Course Director, Dive Trip Leader, Underwater Stunt Woman, Youth Mentor

Rebecca Jones, Virginia
- Navy Deep Sea Diver, Diving Safety Expert, Technical Diving Supervisor

Laura Rogers-Bennett, California
- Marine Conservation Ecologist, Fisheries Biologist, AAUS Research Diver

Susan Speck, California
- Author, Underwater Film Producer, Ocean Conservationist and Educator

These women will be officially inducted into WDHOF on 25th March 25 2017 at the Beneath the Sea Awards Banquet in Secaucus, New Jersey.

The was founded in 1999 with the aim of fulfilling a two part mission.

Firstly to recognise women divers who have made outstanding contributions to the exploration, understanding, safety and enjoyment of our underwater world.

And to support the underwater world and its associated careers by promoting opportunities for women and men in diving through scholarships, internships and mentorship opportunities and a worldwide network of industry contacts.

If you are interested in applying for a you still have time. Applications close at midnight on 18th November 2016 and must be made via the WDHOF website.