Who will you nominate for the 2019 DEMA Reaching Out Awards?

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Who will you nominate for the 2019 DEMA Reaching Out Awards?

February 12, 2019 - 16:18
Posted in section:

It is that time of the year when DEMA asks you to nominate an individual who has made a positive impact on recreational diving.

Leslie Leaney received the DEMA Reaching Out Award in 2016 for his service to the industry | Image Credit / Copyright Rosemary E Lunn All Rights Reserved

Since inception in 1989, the DEMA Reaching Out Award has been presented to an individual who has reached out to improve the sport for everyone.

Some of the names on the honour roll will be familiar, some less so. Recipients include significant divers such as Dr Sylvia Earle, (the late) Dr Eugenie Clark PhD, Cathy Church and Zale Parry.

There are many ways to "reach out". Some are pioneers who helped develop techniques in their special areas of expertise. Other are photographers, trainers, equipment designers, publishers, water safety experts, explorers and scientists.

Nomination Process

All nominees must have been active in the Diving Industry for a minimum of 10 years and made a significant contribution to the sport of scuba diving.

for this prestigious, international award need to be received by DEMA no later than 16.30 (Pacific time) on Friday 31 May 2019.